Nick Broeker Tabbed FWAA All-America

dallas – For the second straight day, Ole Miss offensive lineman Nick Brook won All-American honors.

Broeker, who has started every game this season at left guard for the Rebels, was named a second-team All-American by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) on Friday.

There are 19 schools represented from the first team in the 6 Football Bowl Divisional Conferences and 34 different schools and 8 conferences plus one independent are included on the entire 54-man team.

This is the 133rd Walter Kemp All-American team, the oldest college football All-American team in the nation. 131 Football Bowl Subdivision Head coaches and directors of sports information selected 26 players for the first team. In addition, 26 players were selected to the second team.

Broeker played in nearly all of Ole Miss’ offensive snaps this season (907), helping lead the Rebels to an 8-4 regular season record and this year’s Texas Bowl. Broeker was not sacked in 505 pass blocks and was the backbone of an Ole Miss offense that ranks seventh in the FBS in rushing yards per game (261.6) and total offensive yards (491.2).

Also Read :  Middle District of Pennsylvania | Effort Man Sentenced To 240 Months In Prison For Distributing Fentanyl Resulting In Death

The Springfield, Illinois native was part of an offensive line team that helped stop a rushing drive, the only one in the country with two players rushing for more than 850 yards team. Ole Miss is the only FBS team with over 5,500 total yards of offense and over 3,000 rushing yards.

The FWAA All-American team was first selected in 1944, three years after the organization was founded. The FWAA’s founding team included the Army’s Heisman Trophy Doc Blanchard and Glenn Davis and Georgia Tech’s Frank Broyles, who went on to become Arkansas’ head coach and athletic director.

Since 1945, the FWAA All-American team has been one of five teams used to make the NCAA’s annual consensus All-American team, which will be announced later this week. Beginning with the 2002 season, the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), The Associated Press, The Sporting News and the Walter Camp Football Foundation joined the FWAA as five selectors designated by the NCAA.

Also Read :  Snow, mix, rain for Friday

Get all the latest on the team by following @olemissfb Twitter As well as Instagram and OleMissFootball on Facebook.General sports news can also be found on OleMissSports Twitter As well as Facebook and OleMissAthletics on Instagram.

2022 FWAA All-American Team
Attack – First Team
QB: Caleb Williams, University of Southern California
Reply: Blake Kunlun, Michigan; Billan Robinson, Texas
desk: Marvin Harrison Jr., Ohio State University; Hyatt Regency Jaleen, Tennessee
special: Brock Bowles, Georgia (6-4, 230, So., Napa, Calif.)
OL: Steve Avila, TCU; Paris Johnson Jr., Ohio State; John Michael Schmitz, Minnesota; OL Peter Skoronski, Northwestern
C: Olusegun Oluwatimi, Michigan

Defense – First Team

DL: Jalen Carter, Georgia; Kalia Kansi, Pete; Tuli Tuipulotu, USC; Tyree Wilson, Texas Tech

lb: Will Anderson Jr., Alabama; Jack Campbell, Iowa; Evan Pace Jr., Cincinnati

DB: Emmanuel Forbes, Mississippi; Clark Phillips III, Utah; Chris Smith, Georgia; Devon Witherspoon, Illinois

Special Teams – First Team

gram: Christopher Dunn, North Carolina

guest: Tori Taylor, Iowa

Korean: Lideatrick Griffin, Mississippi

PR: Derius Davis, TCU

Associated Press: Zach Charbonnet, UCLA

Also Read :  Yoon says South Korea, U.S. discussing exercises using nuclear assets

Offense – Second Team

QB: Max Duggan, TCU

Reply: Abani Kanda, Israel, Pete; Mohammad Ibrahim, Minnesota

Write: Josh Downs, North Carolina; Rashee Rice, Singapore Management University

special: Michael Mayer, Notre Dame

OL: Joe Alt, Notre Dame; Nick BrookMiss Ole; Ocellus Torrance, FL; Andrew Voorhees, University of Southern California

C: Alex Forsyth, Oregon

Defense – Second Team

DL: Felix Anudike-Uzomah, Kansas; Tyler Davis, Clemson; Isaiah Fowski, Notre Dame; Mike Morris, Michigan

lb: Tommy Eichenberg, Ohio State; Jason Henderson, Old Dominion; Drew Sanders, Arkansas

DB: Eric Hallett II, Pitt; Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU; Joey Porter Jr., Penn State; John Tocchio, Wisconsin

Special Team – Second Team

gram: Joshua Carty, Stanford University

guest: Bryce Ballinger, Michigan State

Korean: Milan Tucker, App State

PR: Kool-Aid McKinstry, Alabama

Associated Press: Chase Brown, Illinois


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button